NANORENO VN FINALLY FINISHED!

Standard

I can finally kiss the sleepless nights goodbye!

For those of you who don’t know, I have a list of goals I want to achieve as a visual novel creator, and one of them is to make a visual novel for a NaNoRenO event!

There’s a lot of things I learned in making my first ever NaNoRenO VN. 

  • I learned that I can make a visual novel within 15 days. Sure, anyone can make a VN even within an hour. A very, very short VN at that. But this Encanto VN was made on March 15 and I ended it on March 29, 15 days to be exact. It has 6000 words, 3 character sprites, 5 CGs and 6 endings. With that, I had to do the visual novel everyday, be it by the drawings or the script.
  • One should be aware of the resources that they’ll use on their visual novels. I made an itch.io account and with it, there’s an option in which the readers can donate money for your VN. There are a lot of free resources to use on the internet but the question is, are they suited to use in terms of licenses? For example, I may gain profit from the VN if someone got blinded by the crappiness of my VN and accidentally donated, but won’t I get sued if the license of my resources indicates that I shouldn’t use it for commercial purposes? Fortunately, I only used Kevin MacLeod’s music and some other sound effects for the VN. Some of them are fine to use for commercial games. It’s a good thing to research first before doing anything, really.
  • I learned that the new Renpy software is a pain in the ass. Seriously 😦 Some codes such as the CG Gallery from leon doesn’t work anymore 😥 But anyways, one should expect that the software is changing for the better, and so codes are also changing. The problem is, not much new code has been posted for the new software. Everyone’s still new at it, I guess?
  • No matter how crappy my VN is, some of the very few people notice it. No matter how bad you think it is, go ahead and release it to the public! One out of the billions of people might read it, and you’ll be happy they did. Even though the person doesn’t like it. Because that single person endured the 15 minutes of gameplay and even bothered to download it, that’s enough to make me happy.
  • Don’t wait for your hobby to die. If you’ve been neglecting your hobbies, you will soon be lazy to do it again. That’s what I felt when I released my first VN. I felt successful because I was able to make my very first one but then I forgot about making visual novels and never progressed from there. Because of this NaNoRenO event, I focused on releasing my second visual novel, and my drive for making visual novels is back once again! One should keep on doing what they like everyday but I’ll make sure to be organized and have time for other things.
  • My sweetie’s patience is this long >//w//<  Even though I’m too busy to even chat because all I do is visual novels and eat and no sleep and visual novels, he’s still patient and keeps on waiting for me to finish this! And it makes me appreciate him even more!
  • It was worth it.

For those who are interested how crappy this VN is, you can download it on itch.io and see the discussion, if there ever is a discussion about it on this Lemmasoft thread.  To unlock all the game’s endings, you have the walkthrough here. Getting all endings makes you unlock the Author’s Notes where you can read some nonsense there.

And since my first NaNoRenO is done, I guess I’ll tick off my goal #5!

Goal 5 done

Now…

What else should I add as a goal?

Share your thoughts!!! Come on, I know you wanna say something ;)

