Drawing Skills

Standard

I know my drawing skills are bad. Because of this, I have this list of what I think I’m bad at in terms of drawing digitally.

  1. I suck at drawing hands and fingers. No further comment.
  2. Body proportion is a mess! Sometimes, the right arm is too long, the other one is short. And I don’t know how to draw a male’s body from a female’s body!
  3. Art is never consistent! How they look and the color used never looks the same again.
  4. I always run out of ideas for new hairstyles.
  5. I don’t like how I draw characters from side view.
  6. I don’t know how to draw from different angles properly!
  7. I can only draw human beings. Animals, items, and background images all hate me.
  8. I think my coloring can improve a bit more. I just can’t blend the colors right.
  9. I really really really want to draw feet properly.
  10. I need to improve the smaller details, too!
  11. I need to learn more of the effects, such as the lighting, the gloss, and other stuff.
  12. Shadows are not placed on where they really need to be placed.
  13. When I draw a character, it turns out completely the opposite of how I want it to be!
  14. All my characters look the same, seriously.
  15. What else, I can’t draw hands again.

And there we have it! The top 15. Actually, that’s all I can think of right now, and I’m sure there will be more issues coming in the future. So what’s the best thing to do for my skills to get better?

  • Look for a lot of references! I’m actually even looking at the people around me for the tiniest detail for my reference!
  • Look for a lot tutorials! Deviant Art is the heavenly place when it comes to drawing tips!
  • Draw! Draw! Draw! That’s really it. There’s no other better way to hone skills than to just practice a lot until it becomes terrific!

So I have this challenge that I want to set for myself! I’m not just a visual novel creator! I’m also a visual novel reader! Or player! Whatever you define visual novels, if it’s a game or a story. I’ve downloaded some visual novels from the NaNoRenO 2017 Jam and I’m super excited on how the others made their entries!  Now, for some visual novel that I’ll play, I’ll be making a fanart of whichever character I adored from the story!

It’s a bit hard, considering that digital drawing will take you up to 5 hours or more if you’re really serious about it, and I don’t know if I have that much time, but I will still try! In this way, I’ll be able to draw a lot and practice a lot! This is the challenge set to me from now on.

2 thoughts on “Drawing Skills

  1. A fresh look on your blog I see 😀 Nice cat logo.
    Anyway, I’ll start with #2: Using an old school method, maybe you can ask your brother(s), dad, boyfriend(s), some other dude walking down the street to go shirtless and draw based on their proportion as a reference. Then compare it to yourself privately ahem or some other curvy ladies.
    #3: I have consistency problems myself, though never stop having your own art as a reference and take your time thinking how will it look if the character pose differently based from that art. It’ll hardly be perfect but at least there is an undo and an eraser tool in art programs.
    Other numbers … I’ll just say it from my past experience. Since I have an averagely better network connection, my references is almost always on the internet, either from videos or images. An example would be from Manga University (https://www.howtodrawmanga.com/pages/tutorials). I grew up drawing only cities and mountainous landscapes but not living characters and objects such as trees. If I do need to draw one, I’ll be taking shortcut by drawing them at a distance or something as minimal as possible to fool my classmates and teachers thinking I am good at it 😛 Well, I was a kid anyway so, who cares 😛
    Since you stalked my blog and beta read my VN, you already seen who the kemonomimi was. She was the first character I put my effort in after watching a number of videos on how to draw. I drew her out of frustration to be honest 😀 and it turns out better than I calmly did. Though, I still have more to learn and so do you. Draw till you gone mad! 😀 Maybe that will help? My other references will be looking outside and pictures I took.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cami Lui

      I’m a curvy lady 😛 Just kidding. The thing is, anime bodies are so different from the ones in real life, but yeah, I’ll make the people around me as reference! And I’ve visited World Manga Academy and the tutorials there are really, really neat! But they closed after a few months 😦 Anyways, I guess Deviant Art has some cool tutorials, too! Good luck with the both of us honing our skills!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts!!! Come on, I know you wanna say something ;)

