Played Gulam

Standard

It’s been a while since I’ve played another visual novel! This time, it’s an entry for this year’s NaNoRenO entitled Gulam by Aracade. You can find the game’s thread in the Lemmasoft forums or download it in itch!

Gulam is about a red-headed girl named Abby whose mom left for work one day. Bored and alone, Abby searches for a way to survive another lonely night by reading books, drawing, eating and the like, until she found a creepy, talking book in her mom’s room and a demon pig that appeared out of nowhere! Things started to get weirder, with Abby wondering what kind of secret her mom is keeping from her.

oh my j abbey

Chained  book with sharp teeth and weird symbols? Don’t use the key, alright.

The art has a lovely style, the story concept will definitely pique your curiosity, and the dialogues make the characters real! Gulam is a great game for NaNoRenO 2017!

What I somehow find unsatisfying is the lack of answers to questions that readers will definitely want to know about. It’s definitely a short visual novel, knowing it’s for NaNoRenO, and so I definitely get that the developer might lacked some time in completing the story solidly.

The story revolves around the book that Abby found, and the demon pig that she accidentally summoned (this is why I don’t ever read things aloud).  But more than that, Abby’s mom plays a big part in the mystery, but the readers don’t know how. This could also lead to the bigger background story of Abby’s dad, which is, another thing that the readers don’t know why. The thing is, the story is completely unfinished in my opinion.

But NaNoRenO doesn’t really have strict rules about updating the game after the deadline is met! I just checked the game on itch and it seems Aracade updated a new version of Gulam. I will be checking it out later on, but since I’ve got not much time nowadays, I decided to make a blog post about Gulam or else, I may end up procrastinating and worst, I might finally not be able to make a blog post about it ever! So for now, I’ll just update this post once I have gotten the other endings.

whats going on

If I click the choice of wanting to know what’s happening, this is so far, the very ending that was a bit closer into unlocking the other mysteries.

In my opinion, releasing a game without completing all the story’s ending is a bit risky. People who may have downloaded the game might not be able to re-download it again in cases where they might be busy with other things in life that they might not find time to play it again, or if they found another visual novel that they wanted to play so they forgot about re-downloading the game, or if they are not notified that a newer update of the game is released. I actually found out that there was a new update as I copied the game’s itch link to this post!

Overall, it’s a satisfying game if the endings are all completed and if all questions are answered (and I will just assume that it is completed with the new update). And when I play a visual novel, I always want to unlock all endings no matter what, that’s why I can tell that I’ll definitely be re-downloading Gulam again. A walk through for Gulam is also encouraged and highly requested XD

Since I made a challenge to myself that I’ll be doing some character fanart for some of the visual novels that I’ve played in order to improve my own drawing skill! Here’s my very first fanart below:

Gulam

It doesn’t look much like the characters and I’ve missed to put some details (such as the weird marks written on the book’s cover), but I like to imagine this scene where Abby goes with Gunter for their allegiance. Gunter, the demon pig, is a very cute character by the way!

Congratulations to Aracade by completing his/her very first visual novel! I look forward to the more visual novels that you’ll make in the future and good luck!

Share your thoughts!!! Come on, I know you wanna say something ;)

